May 16, 2013


New Release
Mark Kozelek & Desertshore
Release Date: August 20, 2013

Recorded at San Francisco's Hyde Street Studios in March of 2013, Desertshore's 3rd release, Mark Kozelek and Desertshore, features 10 new songs co-written by guitarist Phil Carney (formerly of Red House Painters), pianist Chris Connolly, and Sun Kil Moon vocalist Mark Kozelek. While Kozelek guested as producer, vocalist and bassist on Desertshore's critically acclaimed Drifting Her Majesty and Drawing Of Threes, Mark Kozelek & Desertshore finds Kozelek singing throughout the record's entirety. Lyrical themes range from a day spent in New Orleans, an encounter with Church of Satan founder Anton Lavey, and the passing of friends and relatives. With drummer Mike Stevens (Sun Kil Moon) on board, this album finds the band in full force, making their way from the Motown swing of 'Mariette', to the Crazy Horse guitar innerplay of' 'Livingstone Bramble',to the delicate, Ravel influenced album closer, 'Brothers'.

Track listing:
1. Mariette
2. Livingstone Bramble
3. Hey You Bastards I'm Still Here
4. Katowice Or Cologne (listen)
5. Seal Rock Hotel
6. Tavoris Cloud
7. You Are Not Of My Blood
8. Sometimes I Can't Stop
9. Don't Ask About My Husband
10. Brothers



New Release
Mark Kozelek & Desertshore
Release Date: August 20, 2013

San Francisco's Desertshore features guitarist Phil Carney (formerly of Red House Painters) and classically trained pianist Chris Connolly. Drawing of Threes, the band's second release since their critically acclaimed debut Drifting Your Majesty, includes Mark Kozelek (Sun Kil Moon) as guest vocalist and bassist on several of the album's tracks. Limited Vinyl available in January.


1. Diana (Listen) 2. Mercy (Listen) 3. Turtle Pond 4. Randy Quaid 5. Vernon Forrest 6. Molle 7. Light Flowers 8. Pollen Hinges 9. Hellborg 10. Matchlight Arcana


November 3, 2010

Uncut Magazine Features Drifting Your Majesty

Recently Deserthsore was featured in Uncut Magazine. Drifting Your Majesty was listed as a key album to check out in 2010. Click on the picture below to see the feature:


August 23, 2010 New Release Desertshore Drifting Your Majesty CD Release Date October 19th / Digital Album Available October 19 The debut album by the instrumental band Desertshore featuring keyboardist Chris Connolly and guitarist Phil Carney. Chris Connolly is a classically trained pianist who studied with Julian White and Sharon Mann in California. Phil Carney played guitar in San Francisco legends, Red House Painters and later, Sun Kil Moon.

TRACK LISTING: 1. Black Mirror Water 2. The Town Alight 3. Mojave Mirage (LISTEN) 4. Gwynnedd (LISTEN) 5. Beautiful Descent 6. Darkhan 7. Drifting Your Majesty 8. Koko 9. Plataea 10. Right Favor 11. Sixteen Drawers 12. Jordan Heavyhand 13. Maurice In Reflection 14. Deep Forest Echoes